Business & Industry Finalists named for Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum awards

Finalists named for Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum awards

Twenty-four women founders and entrepreneurs who are playing a role in driving economic growth and development in Africa have been chosen as finalists for the 2020 AWIEF awards.

Sizani Ngubane

The AWIEF ( is a pan-African entrepreneurship and innovation non-profit organisation whose annual awards, through a nomination process, identifies and celebrates female entrepreneurs across Africa.

The aim of the forum is to promote and support excellence in entrepreneurship and innovation among women-owned businesses in all industries and across all 54 countries of Africa.

AWIEF is also hosting the sixth edition of its prestigious annual Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum Conference, but as a virtual event, on December 2 and 3.

The 24 finalists for the 2020 awards come from different African countries across eight categories.

AWIEF founder and CEO Irene Ochem says: “This year, more than ever, it is vital to acknowledge and celebrate women entrepreneurs in Africa for their leadership and innovation. 
“The impact of the global pandemic has been disproportionate and devastating, and women are showing exceptional resilience.”

The winners will be announced on December 3 at the awards ceremony after the two-day conference. The 2020 theme is ‘Reimagining business and rebuilding better’.

The 2020 finalists are:

Young Entrepreneur Award
Sazia Souza, managing partner, Technoplus (Mozambique)
Hannah Lavery, founder, Hannah Lavery (SA)
Olajumoke Odumola, founder and CEO, KJK Online Communications (Nigeria)
Asomaniwaa Owusu-Ansah, founder and chief pharmacist, Erith Health Services (Ghana)

Tech Entrepreneur Award
Claudette Akinpaye, founder and MD, Agrizilla (Rwanda)
Marlize Holtzhausen, founder and CEO, Response24 (SA)
Abimbola Adebakin, CEO, Advantage Health (Nigeria)

Social Entrepreneur Award
Rita Stryker, CEO, Willette Safehouse (Liberia)
Adenike Akinsemola, founder and director, The Green Institute (Nigeria)
Doris Mollel, founder and executive director, Doris Mollel Foundation (Tanzania)
Mariam Mell’Osiime Mpaata, founder and CEO, Junior Stars Youth Development Programme (Kenya)

Agri Entrepreneur Award
Victoria Mwafulirwa, MD, Homes Industries (Malawi)
Jacqueline Mukashyaka, CEO, Champion Grocers (Rwanda)
Armelle Sidje Tamo, founder and CEO, PRA (Product Related to Agricultural Sector, Cameroun)
Creative Industry Award
Hannellie Coetzee, Visual Artist, Wild Wall Tiles/Hannelie Coetzee (SA)
Ayanfe Olarinde, Lulu Arts and UnEarthical (Nigeria)
Alice Muyambo, Visual Artist, Fortitude Arts Gallery (Zambia)

Energy Entrepreneur Award
Enoyonam Mosia, co-founder, Easy Solar (Sierra Leone)
Amma Serwah Boateng, co-founder, Destra Energy Group (Ghana)

Empowerment Award
Porcho Marguerite Sogoba, CEO, Musodev (Mali)
Nasreen Aleey, founder and CEO, Afrikapu (Kenya)
Qabale Duba, founder and CEO, Qabale Duba Foundation (Kenya)

Lifetime Achievement Award
Robyn de Villiers, chairperson and CEO, BCW Africa (SA)
Daisy Molefhi, founder and executive director, ABM University College (Botswana)

To register for AWIEF2020 virtual conference and awards, click: